College News

CCCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts 41

Click to enlarge CCCC Phi Theta Kappa inducts 41

click to enlarge ⊗

Central Carolina Community College inducted 41 students into its chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International ... (more)

03.14.2012College General

SANFORD - The Central Carolina Community College chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society held its 2012 induction ceremony for 41 new members March 6 in the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center.

Phi Theta Kappa is the official honor society for two-year colleges and the largest honor society in American higher education. It has more than two million members and 1,200 chapters in the United States, U.S. territories, Canada and Germany.

"Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is important to our students because it helps people strive to do their best, provides opportunities to give back to our communities, and makes the most of our time as students," said Jessica Cooper, of Sanford, president of CCCC's PTK Chapter.

She noted that the CCCC chapter sets a higher standard for membership eligibility than the national organization: a 3.7 grade point average rather than the 3.5 GPA that national requires.

Guest speaker for the event was Carl Bryan, CCCC dean of Student Learning Support Programs. During the induction ceremony, Mike Neal, chapter co-advisor, lit a large candle symbolizing knowledge as the servant of wisdom. He then explained the Phi Theta Kappa name: Greek words symbolizing wisdom, aspiration and purity. Mark Hall, chapter co-chair, placed a white rose on a table that symbolized purity, beauty of life, and intellectual associations.

Each inductee held a candle, which was lit during the ceremony. The oath of membership was taken by all to uphold the standards of Phi Theta Kappa.

"Being a member of Phi Theta Kappa acknowledges the accomplishments I've made," inductee Bradley Merz, of Harnett County, said prior to the ceremony. He has a degree in aircraft maintenance from a school in Iowa and is earning a machining technology degree at CCCC. He said he enjoys the unity with the other PTK members, all of whom have strong work ethics.

"These people are not 'wait' people, they're 'do' people," Merz said.

CCCC was chartered as the Beta Sigma Phi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa in 2010 with 55 members. CCCC had its own honor society, Alpha Theta Tau, from 1986 to the establishment of the PTK chapter. President Bud Marchant brought the idea for establishing the chapter when he became CCCC president in 2008. The international organization offers many advantages to students through its conferences, conventions, competitions, and many leadership and scholarship opportunities, as well as being an asset on a job application resume.

"In Phi Theta Kappa, I get to know other people like myself, with high standards," said Clarence Allen, a pre-nursing student from Chapel Hill. "I also get a better feeling for what's going on in the community through PTK."

Co-advisor Hall said Phi Theta Kappa not only recognizes the academic achievements of its members, but it also provides meaningful opportunities for professional, academic, and personal development that enriches students' educational experiences and career possibilities.

The 2012 officers, in addition to Cooper, are vice presidents Nora Stallings, of Chatham County, and Cari Moessner, of Lee County; recording secretary Brandi Hernandez, of Lee County; and public relations secretary Walter Harrison and treasurer Jonathan Stubbs, both of Chatham County.

The 2012 Phi Beta Kappa inductees are: Timothy Baldwin, Peggy Dennison, Linda DiMarzo, Asa Godfrey, Kyli Howe, Melenah Jamerson, Guadalupe Norato, James Pearce, Jeanette Cox, Alexander Shaver, Sherri Spivey, Seth Tom, and Ezra Harmon, all of Lee County; Joshua Bray, Phillip Powers, Linda Brown, and Morlene Steenbergen, all of Chatham County; Willadrenna Rich-Cowan, Joseph Price, Laura-Kay Lamonds, Abigail Weaver, Bradley Merz, Sandra Olmsted, John Ainsworth, Brittney Dias, and Rodney Capps, all of Harnett County;

Also, Tamika Porter and Samantha Swadling, of Cumberland County; Clarence Allen, Lucero Becquer-Ramos, Amy Bourret, Julie Viera, Phillip Wilson, and Sandra Smith, all of Orange County; Irvin Krick, Kristen Calcaterra, Natalie Dale and Silvia De La Rosa-Clark, all of Wake County; Marion Graylion, of Alamance County; Donald Lohr, of Davidson County; and Michelle Scovill, of Iredell County.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa at CCCC, visit the college's Web site,, click on "A-Z Index," then "P" for "Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society."