College News

CCCC board members appointed, reappointed

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,  L.W. “Bobby” Powell

click image to enlarge ⊗

L.W. “Bobby” Powell

Click to enlarge,  Ed Garrison

click image to enlarge ⊗

Ed Garrison

Click to enlarge,  John Bonardi Jr.

click image to enlarge ⊗

John Bonardi Jr.

Click to enlarge,  Annick Joseph

click image to enlarge ⊗

Annick Joseph

11.19.2008College General

SANFORD — Two members have been reappointed to the Central Carolina Community College Board of Trustees and two new members added.

L.W. “Bobby” Powell, has been reappointed by Gov. Mike Easley to another four-year term. Powell has served on the board for 15 years, so far, and is currently board chairman. He was the head PGA professional at Sanford Golf Course from 1961 to 1998. He served on the Lee County Board of Education from 1980 to 1992.

The Lee County Board of Commissioners has reappointed Ed Garrison, who has served since 2004. Garrison is vice president/branch manager of Davenport & Co. He also currently serves on the Lee County Foundation Board of Directors.

John Bonardi Jr. has been appointed by the Lee County Board of Education to serve until 2010. He is completing the term of John Sauls, who resigned from the board to devote full time to his pastoral duties at Crossroads Ministries in Broadway. Bonardi is an estimator/project manager for S.T. Wooten Corp. He served on the Lee County Board of Education from 2004 to 2008.

All three are Sanford residents.

Annick Joseph, of Raleigh, has been appointed by the state legislature as the student representative on the board. A student representative takes part in board meetings, but does not vote. Joseph, the Student Government Association president for 2008-09, is earning associate degrees in broadcast production technology and university transfer.

Members of the board are appointed to four-year terms by various government agencies: four by the governor, four by the Lee County Board of Education, four by the Lee County Board of Commissioners, and two each by the Harnett and Chatham counties boards of commissioners. A student member is appointed by the state legislature each year.