College News

CCCC trustees elect officers, swear in members

Click to enlarge CCCC trustees elect officers, swear in members

click to enlarge ⊗

The Central Carolina Community College Board of Trustees elected a new chairman and vice chairman ... (more)

Click to enlarge CCCC trustees elect officers, swear in members

click to enlarge ⊗

Susan Laudate (right), of Sanford, a retired educator, became the newest member of the Central Carolina ... (more)

08.29.2011Admin, Faculty & StaffCollege General

SANFORD - The Central Carolina Community College Board of Trustees elected a new chairman and vice chairman and swore in one returning and two new board members at its July 27 meeting at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center.

Julian Philpott, of Sanford, is the new board chairman. He is secretary/general counsel for the N.C. Farm Bureau Federation and has served on the college's board since 2006.

"This is an exciting year with 2011-12 being the college's 50th anniversary," Philpott said. "I'm proud to be associated with the college. CCCC has an outstanding academic record. We've been recognized as one of the top 50 community colleges in the entire country. That speaks highly of our faculty, staff, administration and students to bring this recognition to the college."

Philpott said the board of trustees works very well together, an important quality as they face the challenges to the college from the tight state budget.

"We'll work to get through these challenges and continue to be one of the best community colleges in the country," he said. "I'm really excited about the coming year; I'm excited about the future of the college. I hope folks realize how important the college is. We're putting people back to work in our service area and that helps the economy."

Dr. Tracy Hanner, of Bear Creek, a trustee since 2007, is now vice chairman. He is the clinical associate veterinarian and coordinator for lab animal science at N.C. A&T University. Tony Lett, of Sanford, president of Lee Builder Mart, took the oath for his fourth four-year term on the board. College SGA President Donna West, of Dunn, was sworn in as the non-voting student representative to the board of trustees. Lee County Clerk of Court Susie Thomas administered the oaths of office.

Susan Laudate, a retired educator and Sanford resident, is new to the board. She was appointed by the Lee County Board of Commissioners to fill the position formerly held by Frances Warner, of Lemon Springs, who retired from the board. Laudate said she wants to serve as a trustee because the board takes an active role in the life of the community college.

"I feel that CCCC is vital to Lee, Harnett and Chatham Counties in the advancement of our workforces and the enrichment of our communities," she said. "As a former instructor at CCCC, I feel that I have come 'full circle' in my involvement with this dynamic institution."

Laudate taught English and journalism in Lee County Schools for more than 30 years, working at East Lee Middle School and Lee County and Southern Lee high schools during her career. She also taught at the college during the 1980s and 1990s. She currently works as a part-time secretary for Pocket Presbyterian Church.

The 17 members of the board of trustees are appointed to four-year terms by various government agencies: four each by the governor, Lee County Board of Education, and Lee County Board of Commissioners; and two each by the Harnett and Chatham counties boards of commissioners. The student member is appointed by the state legislature each year.

By state statute, community college boards of trustees have the responsibility to govern their colleges. Each college's board selects the college's president, who is the chief administrative officer. The president serves under the board and runs the college in accordance with board policies.

The other members of the CCCC Board of Trustees are Frank Stewart, of Lillington; Jan Hayes, R.V. Hight, Ophelia Livingston, Bobby Powell, Bill Wilson, Tony Lett, Chet Mann, Doug Wilkinson Jr., and Ed Garrison, all of Sanford; George Lucier, of Pittsboro; Tim McNeill, of Cameron; and Clem Medley, of Dunn.

For more information about Central Carolina Community College, visit