College News

Excellence honored at Central Carolina Community College

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,

click image to enlarge ⊗

05.08.2020College & CommunityCollege GeneralStudents/Graduates

SANFORD - Central Carolina Community College has recognized approximately 100 outstanding students for its Annual Academic Excellence Awards.

Instructors selected the students who were recognized for academic excellence or for overall outstanding achievement.

Kim Taylor, of Wake County, was recognized as the CCCC recipient of the North Carolina Community College System's "Great Within the 58" Academic Excellence Award. Only one student from each of the state's 58 community colleges is selected for the award each year.

Jalin Shanice Lee, of Harnett County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Dallas Herring Achievement Award.

Mackenzie Roche, of Lee County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award.

All those honored at the Academic Excellence Award program, listed by county of residence, award, and the program for which they received it were:

Alamance County

Academic Excellence Awards: Barbara Graden - Sustainable Agriculture.

Chatham County

Academic Excellence Awards: Sarah K. Walters - Communication, Kristin Michelle Paul - Associate in Arts, Felice Kho - Associate in Arts, Miguel Olivares - Electronics Engineering Technology, April Watts - Information Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Baron Hoffman - Sustainability Technologies, Bella Ocampo - Spanish, Anna Marie Trotter - Associate in Science, Stephanie Diane Horne - Associate in Arts, Melanie Mather - Associate in Arts, Jaycee Kay Sansom - Associate in Science, Karen Tolentino - Medical Office Administration, Zolan Krontz - Electronics Engineering Technology, Ben Goodwin - Mechanical Engineering Technology, Stav Kafri - Computer Integrated Machining.

Excellence in Academic Assistance: Kristin Paul.

Cumberland County

Academic Excellence Awards: Tyler Harness - Criminal Justice Technology-Forensic Science.

Durham County

Academic Excellence Awards: Aaron Kienow - Sustainability Technologies.

Harnett County

Dallas Herring Award: Jalin Shanice Lee.

Larry W. Talton Excellence in Business: Domingo Campos.

Academic Excellence Awards: Erica Dodson - Dental Hygiene, Micah Ellington - Associate in Science, Reid Gregory - Information Technology-Network Management, Cris Nystrom - Laser and Photonics Technology, Richard Carling - Computer Integrated Machining, Crystal Williams - Paralegal Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Stephanie Avalos - Associate Degree Nursing, Ke'Shonna Snead - Practical Nursing, Shaneka Walden - Early Childhood Education, Amanda Sanders - Health Information Technology, Barbara Taylor - Human Services Technology, Shantelle Lauran Vermes - Associate in Science, Montine Elliott-Vance - Office Administration, Brandy Snipes - Medical Office Administration, Carson Bailey - Human Resource Management, Mindi Deann Avery - Broadcast Production Technology, Angel Gonzalez - Laser and Photonics Technology, Terrel Cameron - Barbering, Kayla Okwoshah - Criminal Justice Technology, Kassidy Nixon - Collision Repair & Refinishing Technology, Stephen White - Automotive Restoration Technology.

Johnston County

Outstanding Student Awards: Anna Shafritz - Sustainable Agriculture.

Lee County

Gov. Robert W. Scott Award: Mackenzie Roche.

Cary C. Todd Award for Mathematics Excellence: Thomas Franco Selem.

Academic Excellence Awards: Martha Nemec - Human Services Technology, Catherine McDaniel - Medical Sonography, Melissa Rodriguez - Psychology, Lauren Love - Biological Sciences, Thomas Franco Selem - Physical Science, Khrista Tennille Petry - Math, Mackenzie Roche - Math, Sarah Salvador - Associate in Science, Julian Banguera Torres - Associate in Engineering, Hannah Boyce - English, Caleab McLandsborough - Associate in Science, William Tucker - History, Citlally Campos-Aldana - Accounting, David Smoak - Computer Engineering Technology, Tristian Williams - Information Technology, Lindsey Brown - Criminal Justice Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Tatiana Ocasio - Building Construction Technology, Jennifer Graham - Dental Hygiene, Nicholas Horne - Veterinary Medical Technology, Nayelly Benitez Martinez - Health & Fitness Science, Charly Meredith - Psychology, Maya Kovasckitz - Sociology, Vanessa Hagwood - History, John Michael Hill - Associate in Engineering, Angela Dawn Crowder - Accounting, Magali Olea - Business Administration, Sheila Chamblee - Office Administration, Erica Rosser - Business Administration, Veronica Clemons - Adult High School, Nicanor Huezo - ESL, Stephen Trabold - Information Technology-Network Management, Vanessa McLean - Mechanical Engineering Technology, Javier Alvarado - Industrial Systems Technology, William Mayhew - Welding Technology, Joseph Mata Rodriguez - Industrial Systems Technology, Katherine Perez - Criminal Justice Technology-Forensic Science, Roxana Sanchez Ochoa - Paralegal Technology, Ivan Hernandez-Morales - Criminal Justice Technology.

Excellence in Academic Assistance: Sarah Salvador.

Moore County

Academic Excellence Awards: Lena Shoffit - Health Information Technology, Elizabeth Jordan - Dental Assisting, David Peters - Welding Technology, Christopher Westerberg - Culinary Arts.

Outstanding Student Awards: Carmen Bradford - Medical Sonography.

Orange County

Academic Excellence Awards: Erdem Ekinci - Building Construction Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Taylor Kelly - Health & Fitness Science.

Person County

Academic Excellence Awards: Clayton James Shaw - Broadcasting Production Technology.

Sampson County

Outstanding Student Awards: Angie Underwood - Early Childhood Education.

Wake County

Great Within The 58 Award: Kim Taylor.

Academic Excellence Awards: Brittany Siler - Veterinary Medical Technology; Cindy Blalock - Healthcare Management Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Sarah Jordan - Associate Degree Nursing; Mason McLean - Associate in Arts, Paulina English, Computer Engineering Technology.

Excellence in Academic Assistance: Christina Thrasher.