College News

Lee Golf Classic a winner for CCCC Foundation

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,

click image to enlarge ⊗

10.15.2018College & CommunityCollege GeneralSports

SANFORD - Since 1989, area golfers have been hitting the links at the Central Carolina Community College Foundation's annual Golf Classic to financially assist students at the college.

The 29th Annual Golf Classic, held Oct. 10 at the Sanford Golf Course, attracted 29 teams and raised over $24,000.

"The tournament was a huge success again this year," said Jonathan Hockaday, Foundation Golf Classic coordinator. "We are thankful for all the community support because they make this tournament what it is. Lee County has given so much to us. We will use the proceeds from the tournament to go for our students."

The Golf Classic enables the Foundation to award scholarships and other financial assistance to students.

Winners of the A.M. Shotgun Round and team scores were:

First Flight:

First place - Sponsored by Bobby Powell - 56- Bobby Powell, John Green, Roy Eubanks, Dale Bryant

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by John Sauls- 57- John Sauls, Van Heimbecker, Keith Thomas, David Heimbecker

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by Larry Caddell- 57-Larry Caddell, Larry Shaver, Steve Judge, Kevin Whitaker

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by Sweet Southern Home and Design- 57- Christian Davenport, Trey Williams, Carson Wilson, John Crumpton

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by The Normann Financial Group- 57- Murphy Paderick, Miller Robbins, Eric Vernon, Tom McSwain

Second Flight:

First place - Sponsored by First Bank- 59- Justin Gaines, Sam Suslick, Ronny Jenkins, Phil Bradley

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by Wilkinson Cadillac Chevrolet Buick GMC- 60- Raymond Womble, Robby Campbell, Bobby Ballinger, Craig Lister

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by The Normann Group- 60- Kel Normann, Chet Chester, Robin Williams, Cliff Stephens

Third Flight:

First place - Sponsored by Lee-Moore Capital- 63- Jim Mize, Jerry Crotts, Tommy Clark, Craig Chapman

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by Trion- 67- Tony Quick, Terry Ritchie, Dawn Rodgers, Dave Thomas

Second place (tie) - Sponsored by Dr. Bud Marchant- 67- Stan Taylor, Robert Maddox, Robert Garrison, Edwin Thomas

Closest to the Pin winners were Kevin Whitaker, Emily Hare, Larry Shaver, and David Heimbecker. Putting contest winner was Bobby Ballinger.

Winners of the P.M. Shotgun Round and team scores were:

First Flight:

First Place (tie) - Sponsored by Julian Philpott- 56- Brandon Honeycutt, Tom Gordon, Mike Large, Tom Eshbach

First Place (tie) - Sponsored by BB&T- 56- Jimmy Keen, David Wicker, Mark Stewart, Robin Perkins

Third Place - Sponsored by Sears Hometown Store- 57- Phil Bradley, Ron Jenkins, Thurman Tart, Elmon Williams

Second Flight:

First Place (tie) - Sponsored by Sanford Contractors- Chris Brown, Ian Scott, Donnie Oldham, Richard Oldham

First Place (tie) - Sponsored by Sears Hometown Store- Joffree Bradley, Phillip McCune, Abrah Pinnington, Daniel Baker

Third Place - Sponsored by First Bank- David Foushee, Justin Gaines, Rich Trogden, Stewart Forbes

Closest to the Pin winners were Jim Allen, Elmon Williams, Brandon Honeycutt, and Mark Stewart. Putting contest winner was Phil Bradley.

Members of the Lee County Golf Classic Committee are Phil Bradley (tournament chairman), Mikeal Basinger, David Caplan, Christian Davenport, Emily Hare, Jonathan Hockaday, Tom Joyner, Chas Post, Bobby Powell, Lynda Turbeville, Lora Wright, and CCCC President Dr. T. Eston Marchant.

The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization affiliated with, but independent of, the college. It receives donations of money and equipment on behalf of CCCC and uses them to promote the educational mission of the college and assist students through scholarships and grants. For information on giving to the Foundation or its fund-raising events, contact Emily Hare, executive director of the CCCC Foundation and Development Office, 919-718-7230, or