College News

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

05.09.2017 • Admin, Faculty & Staff, College & Community, College General, Students/Graduates

SANFORD - Central Carolina Community College honored approximately 80 outstanding students May 3 at its Annual Academic Excellence Awards program at the Dennis A. Wicker Civic Center.

Instructors selected the students who were recognized for academic excellence or for overall outstanding achievement.

Tiffany Gee, of Wake County, was recognized as the CCCC recipient of the North Carolina Community College System's "Great Within the 58" Academic Excellence Award. Only one student from each of the state's 58 community colleges is selected for the award each year.

Christine Bartel, of Moore County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Dallas Herring Achievement Award. Rebecca Macklin, of Orange County, was recognized as CCCC's nominee for the NCCCS Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award.

All those honored at the Academic Excellence Award program, listed by county of residence, award, and the program for which they received it were:

Alamance County

Outstanding Student Awards: Cherie Martinelli, Sustainable Agriculture.

Caldwell County

Outstanding Student Awards: Samantha Cordaro-Hargrove, Business Administration.

Chatham County

Academic Excellence Awards: Liann Dubon, Electronics Engineering Technology; Shana Johnson, Associate in Arts-University Transfer-Chatham; Jo Ann Lemons, Early Childhood Education; Cynthia Mason, Office Administration; Carissa Roets, English; Stephen Shaffer, Industrial Systems Technology; Breonna Williams, Criminal Justice Technology - Latent Evidence.

Outstanding Student Awards: Ethan Biegger, Sustainability Technologies; Hannah Hilliard, Criminal Justice Technology - Latent Evidence; Christopher Knight, Early Childhood Education; Angel Ladair Maija Green, Broadcast Production Technology; Liliana Nava, Medical Assisting-Chatham; Matthew Parker, Computer Aided Drafting Technology; Daija Terry, Spanish; Lauren Vann, Associate in Science-University Transfer-Chatham.

Cumberland County

Outstanding Student Awards: Stevi Jacobs, Dental Hygiene; Yasarai Rodriguez, Biology; Nina Rodriguez, Healthcare Management Technology.

Durham County

Outstanding Student Awards: Cody Goss, Motorcycle Mechanics.

Harnett County

Academic Excellence Awards: Aaron Adams, Laser and Photonics Technology; Jordan Graham, Associate in Arts-University Transfer-Harnett; Hannah Walker, Cosmetology; Genevieve Winderweedle, Paralegal Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Darlene Baker, Veterinary Medical Technology; Janice Bradley, Office Administration; Ashley Byrd, Healthcare Management Technology; Jessica Cameron, Nursing; Kathryn Horrell, Culinary Arts; Kelly Johnson, HSE; Liria Mateo, Practical Nursing; Jose Olivares, Criminal Justice Technology; Jordan Tenaro, AHS.

Lee County

Larry Talton Excellence in Business: Joshua Natte.

Cary C. Todd Award for Mathematics Excellence: Noel Martinez.

Lee County Orchestra Achievement Award: Savannah Shockey.

Academic Excellence Awards: Enna Alvarez, Medical Assisting-Harnett; Karla Bueno, Human Services Technology; Daniel Candelario, Math; Tiffany Edwards, Paralegal Technology; Frank Ewens, Physical Science; Jonathan Godfrey, Automotive Systems Technology; Luis Gonzalez, Associate in Arts-University Transfer-Lee; Brian Kedzierski, Associate in Science-University Transfer-Lee; Caleb Keene, Criminal Justice Technology; Anthony Kelly, Automotive Systems Technology; Kathryn Kline, Veterinary Medical Technology; Scott Lankford, Computer Information Technology; Rogelio Salvador, Associate in Arts-University Transfer-Lee; Robert Saul, Computer Information Technology; Michelle Szabo, Accounting; Carmen Toro, Business Administration.

Outstanding Student Awards: Ashley Arthurton, Cosmetology; Catherine Bryant, Culinary Arts; Carlos Campos, Industrial Systems Technology; Jalen Cheek, Communication; Chelsy Godwin, Medical Assisting-Harnett; Luis Gonzalez, History; Saul Gonzalez, Computer Engineering Technology; Alexis Hunt, English; John Scott Parker, Laser and Photonics Technology; Taylor Ridall, Dental Assisting; Sara Thomas, Accounting; Whitney Varner, Associate in Engineering; Whitney Varner, Math; Jackelynette White, Human Services Technology.

Mecklenburg County

Outstanding Student Awards: Raven White, Human Resources Management.

Moore County

Dallas Herring Achievement Award: Christine Bartel.

Academic Excellence Awards: Jackie Jamerson, Human Resources Management; James Sugg, Computer Aided Drafting Technology.

Outstanding Student Awards: Scott McAvoy, Welding Technology.

Orange County

Gov. Robert Scott Award: Rebecca Macklin.

Academic Excellence Awards: Joshua Calhoun, Sustainable Agriculture; Andrew Hendrick, Dental Hygiene; Sreedevi Vanmathi, Medical Assisting-Chatham.

Randolph County

Academic Excellence Awards: Yesenia Moreno, Medical Office Administration.

Wake County

Great in the 58 Academic Excellence Award: Tiffany Gee.

Outstanding Student Awards: Jennifer Duffany, Nursing-AND 1st Level; Theresa Gietzen, Chinese; Quinn O'Neal, Associate in Arts-University Transfer-Chatham; Carolyn Wilson, Medical Office Administration.

Pictures of Academic Excellence Award recipients can be downloaded at the college's website,

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Tiffany Gee (right) is Central Carolina Community College's winner of the N.C. Community College System's Great Within the 58 Academic Excellence Award winner. Presenting the award to Phillips is Mike Beck, CCCC Dean of Student Learning.

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Rebecca Macklin (right) is Central Carolina Community College's nominee for the N.C. Community College System's Gov. Robert Scott Award. Presenting the award to Blair is Mike Beck, CCCC Dean of Student Learning.

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Joshua Natte (right) is recipient of Central Carolina Community College's Larry Talton Excellence in Business Award. Presenting the award to Natte is Michael Fann, CCCC Business Technologies - Lead Instructor.

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Noel Martinez (right) is recipient of Central Carolina Community College's Cary C. Todd Award for Mathematics Excellence. Presenting the award to Martinez is Fred Fritz, CCCC Department Chair - Math & Science.

Excellence honored at CCCC awards program

Savannah Shockey (right) is recipient of Central Carolina Community College's Lee County Orchestra Achievement Award. Presenting the award to Shockey is Ken Hoyle, CCCC Vice President of Student Services.