College News

Lee Golf Classic a winner for CCCC Foundation

09.22.2022 • College & Community, College General, Foundation, Sports,

SANFORD - Since 1989, area golfers have been hitting the links at the Central Carolina Community College Foundation's annual Lee Golf Classic to financially assist students at the college.

The 33rd Annual Golf Classic was held on Sept. 14 at the Sanford Municipal Golf Course. The Golf Classic enables the Foundation to award scholarships and other financial assistance to students.


Winners of the A.M. shotgun round and team scores were:

First Flight

First place - 54 - Brad McDougald, Marty Talbert, Chris Maples, Todd Matthews. Sponsored by Dr. T.E. "Bud" Marchant.

Second Place - Tie - 55 - Steve Carter, Jim Ulrich, Bill Palko, Mark Reinemann. Sponsored by Steve Carter.

Second Place - Tie - 55 - Kel Normann, Murphy Paderick, Miller Robins, Dave Glabicki. Sponsored by Normann Financial Group.

Second Flight

First Place - Tie - 59 - John Crumpton, Brian Powell, Joe Gay, Bobby Powell. Sponsored by Bobby Powell.

First Place - Tie - 59 - Terry Howe, Greg Oldham, Chip Cosimo, Jimmy Ennis. Sponsored by Bill Tatum.

First Place - Tie - 59 - Mickey Foster, Bryan Hawkins, Drew Kessell, Greg Watts. Sponsored by FirstHealth.

Third Flight

First Place - Tie - 63 - Rich Trogdon, Merritt Foushee, Gina Davis, Rick Parks. Sponsored by First Bank.

First Place - Tie - 63 - Mitchell Dowdy, Ryan Hedgepath, Bill Johnson, Thomas Henry Dowdy. Sponsored by Wilkinson Chevrolet Buick GMC.

First Place - Tie - 63 - Jimmie Boggs, Edwin Thomas, Jerry Bryant, Mike Parnell. Sponsored by Sanford Contractors.

Closest to the Pin winners: Todd Matthews, Holden Keen, Joe Gay, and Dan Johnson.

Longest Drive winner: David Barbour.


Winners of the P.M. shotgun round and team scores were:

First Flight

First Place - 52 - Cameron Sharpe, Tom Quattlebaum, Warren Lewis. Sponsored by Post, Patton & Foushee - Trial Lawyers.

Second Place - 53 - Trey Williams, Brad Salmon, Walter Brinker, Stephen Salmon. Sponsored by Enterprise Risk Management.

Third Place - 60 - Jamie Kelly, Andy Phillips, Ronnie Brown, Tom Eshbach. Sponsored by Julian and Cynthia Philpott.

Second Flight

First Place - Tie - 62 - Mitchell Dowdy, Tanner Roseborough, Chris Johnson, Phillip Kidd. Sponsored by Astellas Gene Therapies.

First Place - Tie - 62 - George Grant, Woody Scott, Mark Spivey, Charles Broadwell. Sponsored by Dr. George Grant.

Third Place - Tie - 63 - Rodney Harrill, Jade Wicker, Rodney Starr, Steve McDuffie. Sponsored by Steve Heesacker.

Third Place - Tie - 63 - D.W. Suggs, Rodney Cummings, Robin Williams, Don Perry. Sponsored by Lee Brick.

Third Place - Tie - 63 - Brandon Chapman, Katie Taulbee, Eli Taulbee, Jeff Chapman. Sponsored by The Chapman Family.

Third Flight

First Place - 66 - Jamie McLeod, Nick Testa, Kevin Pearson, Nick Sullivan. Sponsored by Hobbs Architect.

Second Place - Tie - 69 - Leon Musselwhite, Mike Stanton, William Weitz, Chris Johnson. Sponsored by Steve Carter.

Second Place - Tie - 69 - Kevin Brown, P.J. Patel, Rich Tompkins, Sam Gaskins. Sponsored by Post, Patton & Foushee - Trial Lawyers.

Closest to the Pin winners: Ray Rocha, Kent Johnson, Mark Spivey, and Rodney Cummings.

Longest Drive winner: Trey Williams.

Trey Williams was tournament chairman. Other tournament committee members were Mikeal Basinger, Ken Britton, Alexandra Dowdy, Emily Hare, Jon Hockaday, Tom Joyner, Chas Post, Bobby Powell, John Ramsperger, Lynda Turbeville, Abby Walker, and Carson Wilson, as well as CCCC President Dr. Lisa M. Chapman.

Platinum sponsors were: The Chapman Family; Cynthia & Julian Philpott; Dr. Bud Marchant; Dr. Steve Carter; First Bank - Sanford; Post, Patton & Foushee - Trial Lawyers; and The Normann Financial Group.

Gold sponsors were: Astellas Gene Therapies; Bill Tatum; Bobby & Linda Powell; Carolina Commercial Contractors; Caterpillar; Central Carolina Hospital; Dr. George Grant; Enterprise Risk Management; FBIS, A Banker's Insurance Company; FirstHealth; Hobbs Architects; John Sauls; Lee Brick; Lee-Moore Capital; Merrill Lynch/Gordon Richardson; PR Faulk Electric Company; Ray Covington; SAGA; Sanford Contractors; Sanford Dermatology; Sanford Real Estate; Steve Heesacker; Ted & Peggy Lanier; and Truist.

Silver sponsors were: Cameron Sharpe; Cargo Control USA; Chatham Chamber of Commerce; CMG Financial; Elite Storage/Central Moving and Storage; Farm Bureau of Lee County; First Citizens Bank; Hayes Group Consulting, LLC; Heritage Concrete; Irrigation Services; James & Gloria French; Jones Printing; Mertek Solutions; Phil & Genease Fields; Rogers-Pickard Funeral Home; Sam Gaskins/Lynda Turbeville; Sandhills Contracting; Sandra's Shear Designs; Spanset, Inc.; The Shed Depot; Tom Joyner; Tree Frog Properties; Ward & Foust, CPA's; Wayne Staton; Wilson, Reives & Silverman, PLLC; WWGP/WFJA.

Coca-Cola Bottling Company provided soft drinks. Wilkinson Chevrolet Buick GMC provided the Hole-in-One contest. Quick Bites provided lunch. Southern Jewelers provided Gift-In-Kind.

The CCCC Foundation is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization affiliated with, but independent of, the college. It receives donations of money and equipment on behalf of CCCC and uses them to promote the educational mission of the college and assist students through scholarships and grants.

For information on giving to the Foundation or its fund-raising events, contact Dr. Emily C. Hare, Executive Director of the CCCC Foundation, at 919-718-7230, or

Lee Golf Classic a winner for CCCC Foundation

Members of the A.M. shotgun first-flight first-place team were Brad McDougald, Marty Talbert, Chris Maples, and Todd Matthews.

Lee Golf Classic a winner for CCCC Foundation

Members of the P.M. shotgun first-flight first-place team were Cameron Sharpe, Tom Quattlebaum, and Warren Lewis.