College News

Telephone Pioneers endow CCCC Telecommunications scholarships

Notice: This article is older than 12 months. Names, contact information, programs, titles, etc. might have changed. If you have any problems please call the main college number, 1-800-682-8353, and we will be happy to direct you accordingly.

Click to enlarge,

click image to enlarge ⊗

11.26.2008College & Community

Members of the Durham Chapter of the Triangle Telephone Pioneers of America visited Central Carolina Community College's N.C. School of Telecommunications recently to establish two scholarships for its students. The North Carolina Telecommunications Industry Association was the catalyst that brought the groups together. Pioneers members Brian Leach, Walter Bugel and Mike Shearl toured the facility, located in the Lee County Industrial Park, and were impressed with the training provided. They presented a check for $22,000 to Diane Glover, executive director of the CCCC Foundation to fund the endowments for the scholarships. The annual scholarships provided by these endowments are in memory of the late Claude Sykes and the late Rassie Wynne, both formerly of Durham, who served as presidents of the organization. Joe Lawrence, of Sanford, an active member and officer of the N.C. Triangle Pioneers, said these individuals were well known in the field of telephony and that the scholarships are a great tribute to them. Pictured at the NCST are (from left) Glover; Leach and Bugel; Kelly Dehring, NCST administrative assistant; and Ben Johnson, lead instructor for networking Technologies and Telecommunications. For information on the School of Telecommunications and its programs, call (919) 776-5812 or go online to For information on this or other scholarships, contact the Foundation at (919) 718-7231.