Carolina Works: First in the World Grant

Carolina Works: First in the World Grant

About

Carolina Works is introducing proactive and individualized success coaching at 10 North Carolina Community Colleges. Carolina Works’ unique combination of targeted student success coaching, predictive analytics, technology supports, and business process changes has the potential to significantly improve student success.


Data informed success coaching

  • Proactively reach out to students
  • Empower students to choose the right path towards success
  • Serve as the relationship manager between the student and the institution
  • Use student data to identify and neutralize obstacles and challenges
  • Help students set goals, manage their time, and negotiate life challenges related to work and family, not just school

Coaching Can Lead to Transformative Change

Chart, on the left is a bubble with phrase Registration clearks, four lines come out of the bubble connecting to the phrases Assigned Coaches, Developmental Advising, Case Management, and Student Support as an Institutional Priority.  These four phrases then all connect to a bubble with the phrase Personalized, Sustained Support

Research

Carolina Works will introduce proactive and individualized success coaching to validate the effectiveness of the intervention across 10 North Carolina community colleges. Proactive success coaching has been proven in other contexts to remove academic barriers leading to increases in persistence and completion rates (Bettinger & Baker, 2014).

Treatment
Student assigned to a Success Coach
  • Coach proactively outreaches to student
  • Coach receives auto-alerts & achievement alerts, and reaches out to student
  • Coach uses Aviso risk score to inform student outreach
  • Coach receives staff-generated early alerts, and outreaches to student
Business As Usual
Services already in operation at college
  • Assignment of advisor to student
  • Academic/Student Success Center
  • Programs serving unique populations (e.g. TRIO)
  • Other college-specific services
New Aviso functionality
  • Students create profile in Aviso
  • Students receive auto-alerts from Aviso for attendance, grades, registration
  • Students receive achievement alerts from Aviso
  • Students assigned predictive analytic risk score by Aviso

Background

In 2008, only 26% of first-time community college students attained a degree or certificate within five years (DOE Completion Toolkit, 2011).

40% of community college students leave without a credential within the first two semesters, especially at risk students (DOE Completion ToolKit, 2011).

Research Goals

The Carolina Works project will test whether or not success coaching has a positive and significant impact on community college students' retention and credential completion rates compared to the business as usual condition. Carolina Works will gather evidence through a randomized controlled trial (RCT) meeting the What Works Clearinghouse standard-without reservations.

Methodology

Sample intake will occur across 4 semesters and sample will be comprised of students not enrolled in the prior three terms. 50% of students will be randomly assigned to treatment (assignment of a Success Coach) and 50% of students will be randomly assigned to the business as usual condition.

Success coaches will be informed of their students' progress through a web-based early alert system using predictive analytics. Proactive outreach to students will occur beginning when an alert is generated, then prioritized by risk of attrition.

Participants
  • ~15,000 students from 10 North Carolina community colleges
Key Outcome Measures
  • First to second semester retention (i.e. fall to spring, spring to fall)
  • First the third term retention (i.e. fall to fall, spring to spring)
  • Credential completion during the study period

Research Findings

Study begins Fall 2016. Final results will be reported Fall 2020.

Chart illustrating how the sample selection is made: for Fall 2016, Spring 2017, Fall 2017, Spring 2018, and Fall 2018 'New students are identified at each college' then 'Random assignment of new students to treatment and control at each college (1st & 3rd day of classes)' followed by the creation of a 'Treatment Group' and a 'Control Group' for each semester. Pooled sample observed through June 2020.

Our Goals

  • Validate success coaching as an effective intervention for retention and credential completion
  • Identify best practice characteristics of success coaching for adaptation by other colleges statewide and nationally
  • Through a return on investment analysis, demonstrate that success coaching is a sustainable practice
  • Scaling statewide/nationally

Resources

Grant Contacts

College Contacts

Caldwell Community College and Technical Institute

Project Leads

C. Shannon Brown
Director, Counseling and Advisement
csbrown@cccti.edu

Dena Holman
Vice President Student Services
dnholman@ccti.edu

Success Coach

Camille Annas
cannas@cccti.edu

Richie Covington
jcovington@cccti.edu

Jamison McIver
jmciver@cccti.edu

Carteret Community College

Project Leads

Dana Merck
Dean of Student Services
merckd@carteret.edu

Success Coach

Christie Harris
christief0063@carteret.edu

Central Carolina Community College

Project Leads

Dr. Mike Beck
Dean of Student Learning
mbeck@cccc.edu

Seth Buchanan
Director of College Success and Student Transitions
bbuch926@cccc.edu

Success Coach

Angie Abraham
aabra464@cccc.edu

Sarah Griggs
sgrig547@cccc.edu

Kevin Pearson
kpearson@cccc.edu

Anthea Saez
asaez993@cccc.edu

Cleveland Community College

Project Leads

Amy Davis
Dean of Student Services
davisaa@cleveland.edu

Success Coach

Valerie Freeman
freemanv123@clevelandcc.edu

Kendra Haneline
hanelinek274@clevelandcc.edu

College of the Albemarle

Project Leads

Dr. Evonne Carter
Vice President, Learning

evonne_carter@albemarle.edu

Lynn Hurdle-Winslow
Vice President Student Success and Enrollment Management
lynn_hurdlewinslow@albemarle.edu

Success Coach

Carolyn Hoffman
carolyn_hoffman75@albemarle.edu

Kelvin Brown
Director, Advising and Student Success
kelvin_brown78@albemarle.edu

Isothermal Community College

Project Leads

Kim Snyder
Director of Learning Support and Retention
ksnyder@isothermal.edu

Success Coach

Marin Crosbie
mcrosbie@isothermal.edu

Karen Spratt
kspratt@isothermal.edu

Erin Balmer
ebalmer@isothermal.edu

Pamlico Community College

Project Leads

Jamie Gibbs
Vice President of Student ServicesJgibbs@pamlicocc.edu

Success Coach

Cristy Warner
cwarner@pamlicocc.edu

Randolph Community College

Project Leads

Melinda Eudy
Dean of Curriculum Programs
maeudy@randolph.edu

Success Coach

Pam Wiggins
pgwiggins@randolph.edu

Jae Campbell
jrcampbell@randolph.edu

Roanoke-Chowan Community College

Project Leads

Amy Wiggins
Director, Enrollment Services & Curriculum Registrar
wigginsa@roanokechowan.edu

Dr. LaTonya M. Nixon
Dean of Student Services
lmnixon@roanokechowan.edu

Success Coach

George Holley
Gwholley5870@roanokechowan.edu

Southwestern Community College

Project Leads

Thom Brooks
Executive Vice President
tbrooks@southwesterncc.edu

Cheryl Contino-Conner
Dean of Students
cheryl@southwesterncc.edu

Partners

  • Aviso Retention
  • DVP-Praxis
  • Jobs for the Future

Content developed under grant P11GX150010 from the U.S. Department of Education but do not necessarily represent the policy of the U.S. Department of Education, and you should not assume endorsement by the Federal Government.